The Fundamental Laws of Fort Lauderdale DUI Penalties and Fines

Fort Lauderdale DUI follows the Washington DUI law and implements the same when the time comes to severing DUI offenders. There are several issues to think about when a person is arrested or convicted of DUI for DUI in Fort Lauderdale. Will I be sent to prison? How long will I be locked up? What’s the probationary period? What penalties are there? What fines are they? If so, what length of time? This is one of the most common questions that every Fort Lauderdale DUI attorney faces every day from uninformed and inconsiderate clients. Find out more?

Below are a few details, laws and statistics in relation to Washington as well as Fort Lauderdale DUI fines and sentencing:

First Washington DUI (Fort Lauderdale DUI)

If it is the first time, not less than one day, or greater than a year in prison. In the event of deferred imprisonment, it can be suspended if the court discovers that it could is a serious threat to the physical or mental wellbeing of the offender. In this situation, the judge may decide to place an EHM (also known as the electronic home monitoring device (an alcohol detection breathalyzer may also be included) for the cost of the offender for fifteen days.

A high BAC is punishable by not less than two days or more than a year in prison. The court is able to suspend or defer the imprisonment only when it finds that the prisoner is at a danger of serious harm to their physically or mentally. If that is the case, the court may order to install an EHM or Electric Home Monitoring Device (an alcohol breathalyzer for detection could also be used) at the expense of the defendant for a period of up to 15 days.

The cost of fines

A BAC Per Se: No more than $5,000, and no less than $300.

High Blood Alcohol Content or refusal to take the test: No over $5,000 and anything less than.

An additional $125 is for the person who has been found guilty, delayed prosecution because of an arrest or sentencing to a lesser charge. The money is donated to the Washington State Toxicology Laboratory.

– Another $500 is charged for the purpose of ensuring that compensation is available for the victim. 60 percent of fines are used to support the safety of children and education initiatives.

License Suspension

The first time you have a BAC, per se 30 days or 3 months

First offenders High BAC or refusal to take a test: one calendar year, or twelve months

Zero Tolerance Law Violation:

90 day suspension

Conditions of License

First-time offenders are only eligible for the license conditional once they are convicted.

had served their suspension period.

The Second Washington DUI Perjury (Fort Lauderdale DUI offense)

Jail time: minimum 30 days, maximum 1 year. Home monitoring for 60 days.

The cost of fines and fees:

– Second offence (when BAC is less than .15): minimum $500; maximum $5,000.

A second offense occurs in the event that BAC is at a level that reaches.15: Minimum $750 and the maximum amount of $5,000.

– Additional charges are similar to First Offense.

License Suspension

Second offense BAC Per se 2 year or 24 month

The second time you are convicted of a High BAC offense, refusing to test for 30 days or 90 days

Zero Tolerance Law violation:

1 year or until maximum age for offenders is 21 either of which is more.

Conditional License:

In the case of second time offenders, no conditional licensing is allowed.

But, community and probation service is allowed to DUI exiled individuals by the discretion of the court. This applies to both the first and second Fort Lauderdale DUI offenses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *